About


Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest Greek-letter society in America, was founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. The Greek letters ΦBK stand for the society’s motto, “Love of learning is the guide of life.” For over two hundred years elections to Phi Beta Kappa during a student’s college career is a recognition of the highest intellectual capacity and academic achievement in the liberal arts and sciences.

Alpha Association of Indiana is one of more than fifty active alumni associations of Phi Beta Kappa in the United States which seek to foster scholarship in the secondary schools and liberal education in college campuses.

Did you know….that collegiate college groups are called “chapters” and post-college PBK groups are called “associations”. The Alpha Association of Indiana currently serves as Indiana’s only association group. There are currently 8 PBK chapters in Indiana (Butler University, DePauw University, Indiana University, Earlham College, Purdue University, Valparaiso University, Wabash College, and the University of Notre Dame.


Alpha Association Executive Committee

President
Elaine Eckhart
Purdue University
elaine@eckhartconsulting.com

Treasurer
Joel Tragesser
Wabash College
Joel.tragesser@quarles.com

Programs/Nominations
Vacant!

Programs/Activities
Christine Plews
cplews@psrb.com

Vice President
Gabby Ghreichi
University of Minnesota- Twin Cities
gmghreichi@gmail.com

Historian
Trudy Banta
University of Kentucky
tbanta@iupui.edu

Programs/Jr. Awards
Rosalie Vermette
University of Maine
rvermett@iupui.edu

Programs/Activities
Amy Jones Richardson
Wells College
aajones@iupui.edu

Secretary
Michelle Kahlo
Indiana University
mkahlo@asisystem.com

Member Outreach
Vacant!

Butler Liason/Nominations
Wendy Meaden
Bates College
wmeaden@butler.edu


Mission Statement

The Alpha Association of Indiana Phi Beta Kappa’s mission is: to recognize and reward scholastic excellence of students in pursuit of a liberal arts education, to celebrate our members’ shared appreciation of education in general and liberal arts education in particular, and to facilitate continued learning by our members through the exchange of ideas and experiences.


Interested in Joining Our Association?


Time to renew your 2022 Alumni Association Membership! Please see 2022 membership form attached below. You can pay your 2022 membership fee via check or through PayPal here on this website. Just click on “Donate” and you will see a link to pay with PayPal.

%d bloggers like this: