About


Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest Greek-letter society in America, was founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. The Greek letters ΦBK stand for the society’s motto, “Love of learning is the guide of life.” For over two hundred years elections to Phi Beta Kappa during a student’s college career is a recognition of the highest intellectual capacity and academic achievement in the liberal arts and sciences.

Alpha Association of Indiana is one of more than fifty active alumni associations of Phi Beta Kappa in the United States which seek to foster scholarship in the secondary schools and liberal education in college campuses.

Alpha Association Executive Committee

President
Elaine Eckhart
Purdue University
elaine@eckhartconsulting.com

Treasurer
Joel Tragesser
Wabash College
Joel.tragesser@quarles.com

Programs/Nominations
Jeff Rasley
University of Chicago
jeffrasley@gmail.com

Programs/Activities
Christine Plews
cplews@psrb.com

Vice President
Amy Jones Richardson
Wells College
aajones@iupui.edu

Historian
Trudy Banta
University of Kentucky
tbanta@iupui.edu

Programs/Jr. Awards
Rosalie Vermette
University of Maine
rvermett@iupui.edu

Programs/Activities
Gabrielle Ghreichi
gmghreichi@gmail.com

Secretary
Michelle Kahlo
Indiana University
mkahlo@asisystem.com

Member Outreach
Elizabeth McGlone
Butler University
elizabeth.m.mcglone@gmail.com

Butler Liason/Nominations
Wendy Meaden
Bates College
wmeaden@butler.edu


Mission Statement

The Alpha Association of Indiana Phi Beta Kappa’s mission is: to recognize and reward scholastic excellence of students in pursuit of a liberal arts education, to celebrate our members’ shared appreciation of education in general and liberal arts education in particular, and to facilitate continued learning by our members through the exchange of ideas and experiences.


Interested in Joining Our Association?


%d bloggers like this: